Groups and Committees

Groups and Committees

Council’s Register of Committees and Workgroups (PDF 522.5KB) outlines the purpose, functions and membership of the following:

  • Council special purpose committees
  • Council working groups
  • external boards, committees and organisations
  • external boards, committees, working groups and organisations for Council staff only

Download the Register of Committees and Workgroups (PDF 522.5KB) to view the complete listing of groups and committees.

Statutory Committees

Local Traffic Committee

The Local Traffic Committee advises Tamworth Regional Council on traffic and parking control matters for which Council has been delegated authority from NSW Roads and Maritime Services.

The LTC is made up of representations from Council, NSW Police, RMS and the local State Member of Parliament, acting as a technical review committee and providing advice to Council on some traffic related matters. While the LTC has no decision-making powers, any traffic related matters Council wishes to consider must first be referred to the LTC for their recommendation.

Flood Management Advisory Committee 

The Tamworth Regional Floodplain Management Committee helps develop and implement the Floodplain Management Plan for the Tamworth Regional Council area. The TRFMC assists the Director of Regional Services, formalising part of the community liaison between Council and ratepayers with respect to in relation to the Floodplain Management Plan.

The TRFMC is made up of representatives from Council, Office of Environment and Heritage, NSW State Emergency Service, Environmental Assessment & Stormwater consultancy, Tamworth Community Representative, Barraba Community Representative, Manilla Community Representative, Nundle Community Representative, Woolomin Community Representative and Bendemeer Community Representative.

Local Emergency Management Committee 

Emergencies within our community may occur due to man-made or natural events such as bushfires, floods, storms, pandemics, building or bridge collapses. 

Tamworth’s Local Emergency Management Committee is responsible for the preparation of plans in relation to preventing, preparing for, responding to and recovering from emergencies in our Local Government area. To minimise the consequences of emergencies within our community, it is necessary to have an all-agency, comprehensive approach to emergency prevention and planning. 

The Tamworth LEMC is made up of members representing Council, senior representatives from all emergency services organisations as well as representatives from local service providers such as NSW health, Roads and Maritime Services, Department of Primary Industries, Family & Community Services, Environmental Protection Authority, ABC Radio as well as gas & electricity providers. 

Council’s Local Emergency Management Officer acts as our organisation’s co-ordinator for responding to emergency events. The LEMO is presently the chair of the Local Emergency Management Committee and represents Tamworth at District Emergency Management Committee Meetings.

The position of LEMO undertakes the critical roles of:

  • Council’s liaison officer for disaster planning with other emergency services such as police, fire brigades and state emergency services
  • co-ordinates the review of procedures for responding to emergencies
  • maintaining an effective communication network with all emergency response agencies
  • ensures that resources are available to respond to emergencies including management of Council’s Emergency Operations Centre (EOC)

Council’s LEMO may be contacted by calling (02) 6767 5555.